Des Birch – An Interview

Today I am joined by fellow author, Des Birch. Thanks for taking part in my quick-fire Q&A!

When were you happiest? 

Diving or snorkeling on a reef.

What is your greatest fear?

Bears, heights and Hagfish.

What is your earliest memory?

Sitting on a beach in Blackpool.  I had a bucket and spade, and I was fishing out tiny crabs from a tidal pool in the sand.

Which living person do you most admire, and why? 

I have met a few people who I really admire, but their names would not be familiar to most people.

What is the trait you deplore most in yourself?

Ahh, so many to choose from.  I guess it would be self-doubt after releasing a book.

What is your guiltiest pleasure?

Salted peanuts.  I think I am addicted.

What is the worst job you’ve done?

I wouldn’t want to bore you with it.  Suffice it to say that I only stayed three days.

What is the love of your life?

Apart from my wife, Julie, it has to be the natural world.

Which phrases do you most overuse?

None, I hope.

If you could go back in time, where would you go? 

Go back?  I’m too busy going forward.

When did you last cry, and why?

Last year at the funeral of a young and close friend.

How do you relax? 

Fishing or walking.

What is the closest you’ve come to death?

I was solo diving in the North Sea, 100 feet down, when I became trapped under a cargo net.  Fortunately I’m not a person to panic and I eventually managed to free myself.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Raising my children on my own through the 80’s, when it was less usual for a father to do so.

What keeps you awake at night? 

Some nights my mind won’t switch off.  It can be anything from a story I’m writing, to a serious problem.

What song would you like played at your funeral?

Something to make my mourners mourn less.  I have written a verse to be read at my funeral.

How would you like to be remembered?

As having given more to life, than I have taken from it.  I believe it is all any of us can hope for.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

There is no practice for life: this is it.

untitled

 

Connect with Des at any of the following websites!

Linkedin

Pinterest

Facebook

Twitter

Blog

Smashwords

Goodreads 

Leave a Reply

