Interview with Myself

 

As part of a new series I’m launching where I invite authors to my blog to participate in a quick-fire Q&A, I thought I’d have a go myself. For a person used to talking to themselves in the mirror, this was fun, but maybe that says worrying things about me. This way madness lies? Happy Holidays, everyone. 

 

When were you happiest?

Right now. The past is gone, and this is all there is. But I hope there is better to come.

What is your greatest fear?

Failure.

What is your earliest memory?

My parents had a plastic Quality Street tin, filled with pennies. I used to play games with them. I was an odd child.

Which living person do you most admire, and why?

Bruce Parry. His enthusiasm for life is astounding.

What is the trait you deplore most in yourself?

I constantly tell myself I’m not good enough, and I doubt everything I do.

What is your guiltiest pleasure?

Disney movies.

What is the worst job you’ve done?

Working in an Amazon warehouse, the summer after my first year at university. My job was to take books out of one box, scan them, and put them into a different box. Thrilling stuff.

What is the love of your life?

Food, but I’ll say my wonderfully supportive, endlessly patient partner in case he falls out with me.

Which phrases do you most overuse?

“I’m sorry.”

If you could go back in time, where would you go?

The Golden Age of Hollywood, pre-The Jazz Singer. I imagine the excitement was tangible. People were forging a brave new world. It must have been magical and terrible all at once.

When did you last cry, and why?

Two weeks ago. Someone told me I wasn’t good enough. I cried, but then I got mad because they were wrong.

How do you relax?

With stupid amounts of wine. I need to stop.

What is the closest you’ve come to death?

On a road high up in the Andes in Peru. We were inches from the edge on a crumbling road, and if the car had gone over no one would have survived the fall. I typed a goodbye letter on my phone, hoping someone would find it when they recovered my body.

What single thing would improve the quality of your life?

Not dying.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Getting to where I am today.

To whom would you most like to say sorry, and why?

Myself. I’m not very nice to me.

What keeps you awake at night?

Worrying about things that haven’t happened yet.

What song would you like played at your funeral?

“White Rhythm and Blues.”

How would you like to be remembered?

I’m not sure that matters.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

Be kind, but don’t let the bastards drag you down.

leftbehindfinal

Left Behind, book one in my Abducted Hearts series, is coming soon.

Leave a Reply

